Levittown Celebrates 70 Years Levittown Public Schools Logo
RSS News FeedWednesday, Jun. 28, 2017
School Closings | Calendar | Employment | Media Center

Jonas E. Salk
Salk Graduates Begin a New Academic Chapter
June 15, 2017

Salk Graduates Begin a New Academic Chapter 001Parents and faculty welcomed Salk Middle School students with great pride as they entered the gymnasium for the annual moving up ceremony.

After class officer Julie Magliano led the salute to the flag, the eighth-grade chorus, under the baton of Lisa Levenberg, sang the national anthem. Assistant Principal Patrick Mulligan welcomed parents and faculty to this cherished event, which starts a new academic chapter for the graduates.

Superintendent of Schools Dr. Tonie McDonald told the students that the trip to MacArthur High School "is not a short walk across the parking lot," but one that took three years of preparation. She also encouraged the students to get involved. "Make those four years count in every way," she said.

Principal John Zampaglione congratulated the students and thanked them for their impact on the school culture. "With each of you is something of value," he said.

The administration and staff bestowed a number of special awards in the areas of academic excellence, character, athletics and citizenship prior to handing out certificates of completion to 330 graduates. The ceremony concluded with a special musical presentation by Salk graduate Ted Fiber to celebrate the momentous occasion.

Salk Graduates Begin a New Academic Chapter 002Salk Graduates Begin a New Academic Chapter 003

The district congratulates the following students on receiving the following awards:

Principal's Gold Award

Kailey Abatelli

Rise Character Awareness Award

Caitlyn Kennedy

NYS Comptroller's Award

Kelly Weiss

Scholar-Athlete Award

Aiden Huggard and Julianne Magliano

Principal's Award

Helena Angelakis, Chloe Bobal, Gracelyn Brown, Samantha Bye, Carly Cassiere, Dylan Collins, Raffaela Fernandez, Ashley Garro, Caitlyn Kennedy, Allison Lockman, Colleen McNally, Vincenzo Montefusco, Michael Randazzo, Antonio Tavolacci and Anthony Vaughan

Academic Excellence

Arianna Zanelli

Triple "C" Award

Matthew Cevetello and Hope Sutch

Kiwanis Patricia M. Kelly Award

Matthew Klingler

Kiwanis Lester I. Smith Award

Emily Zhang

Math Awards

Joseph Calabro (AMC 8 Top Scorer), John Cervantes (Mathletes Integrity Award) Matthew Fioretti (Mathletes Top Scorer), Naeel Quasem Mathletes Integrity Award) and Emily Zhang (Mathletes Top Scorer)

Nassau County Legislative Citizenship Award

Matthew Fioretti